The Ministry Begins Now

For a long time I have felt that God has pressed upon my heart that He wanted me to minister to girls with eating disorders.  In fact, it was in the 11th grade that this thought popped into my head one day in biology class and I forever left behind my previous intentions of working with orca whales as a marine mammalogist.

This is what I want to do.  This is where I want to be.

I have such a passion for those that struggle with eating disorders.  I want to help them overcome their struggles.  I want others to understand what they are going through.  I want to empower women to feel good about themselves and about their bodies and to not worry about diets, or food, or weight, or exercise.  I want to make a difference.  I want to help. 

For a while I thought that my direction was to go into psychology to work with girls, but that idea was quickly discarded after taking a few classes and realizing that I don’t want to analyze a person but instead help them.  Then I tinkered around with a possible career path in nutrition with a side degree in counseling, but also quickly realized that I DID NOT want to sit in a chair all day and talk with a person.  I want to be vocal.  I want to be active and out in the community and making a difference.  So then my focus shifted into motivational speaking…something along the lines of what Beth Moore does.

But I think I have finally figured it out.

Or rather, I think God has finally revealed his plan to me.

This year, after some encouragement from my therapist, I started attending a youth program just for college kids.  My first night there, I loved it!  I later met some friends through a spontaneous facebook post, and have been loving and enjoying life ever since!  It is awesome!!!

A couple of weeks ago I found out that this church was hiring for an internship opportunity.  I was interested, so I checked it out.  The intership is for a program in which I would basically be mentoring college kids, and training for ministry.  I would work individually with them, live on-site, and organize programs.

I believe this is where God wants me to go.  I think that He wants to use me here, in this church, to start my ministry for helping girls with eating disorders.  I am praying that this is where He wants me to go.  I really want this.

To say that I’m excited would be an understatement.

I’m ecstatic.  Anxious.  Happy.

And honored. 

But most importantly I am ready.  In terms of my eating disorder, I have all but left it in the dust.  God has helped me conquer so many fears in my life it is incredible.  I only wish I had written more so that I could remember all of it. 

I can’t believe that God would want to use me in this way.  I pray that He wants to use me in this way.

The program doesn’t start until January, and I have yet to turn in my application.  I’m thinking that that will give me plenty of time to organize the rest of my life, get everything back on track and tackle the last of this pesky eating disorder.  In the meantime, I am going to start using my blog as a tool for my ministry.  I am going to post what I have learned, what God is teaching me, and what I am learning along the way.  I don’t think I should put this off any longer, and I feel like God is gently pushing me to start NOW.

I’m way excited.

So here goes.

The Ministry Begins Now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

